Sorrentino Legal | Connecticut CT Evading Responsibility Lawyer
(Connecticut General Statutes C.G.S § 14-224)
Fleeing the scene of a car accident in Connecticut CT is a serious physical injury, or death occurs, is a serious crime. If you're involved in an accident causing injury to another, there are procedures you must follow.
If you fail to comply with these procedures you will be charged with, “Evading Responsibility” otherwise known as “Hit and Run.” These procedures include:
- (1) Immediately stop; AND
- (2) Render necessary aid; AND
- (3) Provide the following information:
(a) Your name;
(b) Address; and
(c) Driver's license and registration information to the police officer, injured party, or witness to the death or serious injury.
If you are unable to do these things for any reason than it's your responsibility is to immediately report a serious injury or death to the nearest police station, police officer, or an inspector of motor vehicle.
Prosecution of Evading Responsibility (Hit and Run) in Connecticut
In order to be convicted of evading responsibility (hit and run) in Connecticut the state must prove that:
- (1) You fled the scene of the accident; AND
- (2) Did not report the car accident (if you did leave).
Is a Hit and Run Misdemeanor or Felony in Connecticut?
The most common question about evading responsibility in Connecticut is whether or not it is a felony or misdemeanor. The answer depends on the car accident, and injuries to the other driver. Fleeing the scene in which a serious injury occurred, such as broken bones or death, would be a felony. If you flee a scene where the injured party suffers non-serious injuries such as whiplash, bruises, etc. you will be charged with a misdemeanor.
Punishment and Sentencing in Connecticut for Evading Responsibility (Hit and Run)
Connecticut CT breaks down the punishment for Evading Responsibility (hit and run) by the severity of car accident and injuries involved.
Hit and run where the accident resulted in death/serious injury
“Serious physical injury” means physical injury that creates a substantial risk of death, or causes serious disfigurement, serious impairment of health or serious loss or impairment of the function of any bodily organ. Penalties causing serious injury or death are:
- Fine up to twenty thousand dollars ($20,000); OR
- Minimum prison sentence up to two (2) years and maximum not more than twenty (20) years; OR
- Both fines and imprisonment.
Hit and run where accident resulted in physical injury
“Physical injury” means impairment of physical condition or pain. Penalties for hit and run causing mere physical injury are:
- Minimum fine of seventy-five dollars ($75) but no more than six hundred dollars ($600); OR
- Prison sentence not more than five (5) years; OR
- Both fines and imprisonment.
Hit and Run where accident results in injury or damage to property
- Fine equal to seventy-five dollars ($75) but no more than six hundred dollars ($600); OR
- Prison sentence not more than one year; OR
- Fines and imprisonment.
It is also important to note Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will also suspend your license if you are convicted of either of these crimes. In addition, an Evading Responsibility (hit and run) charge will be on your record for ten (10) years as opposed to the normal two years for other motor vehicle charges.
Victim of Hit and Run Driver
If you've been the victim of a hit and run driver, who evaded responsibility following a serious car accident causing you injury in Connecticut CT, we can also help you bring a civil suit to recover damages for your loss. A hit and run conviction is evidence of negligence per se, meaning a violation of a criminal statute shows that the reckless driver was at fault. Our experienced accident and injury lawyers can use that conviction to establish that the driver that hit you is legally responsible.
Contact the Best Connecticut Evading Responsibility Lawyer Today.
If you or a loved has been arrested for Evading Responsibility (Hit and Run) in New Haven, Bridgeport, Hartford, New London, contact a lawyer at Sorrentino Legal today at (203) 518-8010 for a free consultation.