Sorrentino Legal | Connecticut CT Reckless Driving Lawyer
(Connecticut General Statutes C.G.S § 14-222)
The state of Connecticut CT defines Reckless Driving in a few different ways. According to statute, all of the following circumstances amount to reckless driving:
- Operating a vehicle on a Connecticut CT highway, road or parking area of ten cars or more at a rate of speed that endangers the life of any person other than the operator of the vehicle; OR
- Operating a vehicle with a Connecticut CT commercial registration downgrade with the clutch or gears disengaged; OR
- Operating a vehicle with known defective issues;
- The operation a vehicle on a Connecticut CT highway, road, or parking area of ten cars or more at a speed of eighty-five (85) miles per hour.
Prosecution of Reckless Driving Arrest in Connecticut
In order to be charged of Reckless Driving in Connecticut CT the state must prove the following:
- (1) Your driving was reckless and endangered people; OR
- (2) Proof you knew about the defective issues on your vehicle; OR
- (3) Proof you were speeding (were you clocked by radar or laser speed detection) and traveling over 85 mph or over.
What is the Difference between Reckless Driving and speeding?
The biggest difference between Reckless Driving and a speeding citation is that reckless driving in CT is actually a crime, whereas speeding is only an infraction. A reckless driving conviction is a misdemeanor that may have to be disclosed on employment or school applications. Therefore, it is important that you speak with a Connecticut CT Reckless Driving Lawyer who can help you get through your case with minimal consequences.
Recklessness while driving is defined as the conscious disregard of others while either (a) knowing that it was a serious danger to do so, or (b) knowledge of facts that would alert a reasonable person of the known danger.
It must be something more than just negligence or even gross negligence. The following is not enough, on its own, to arise to the level of recklessness:
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
However DUI or speeding in conjunction with other facts or circumstances, even if slight, can be enough to establish that you/the driver were acting with conscious disregard for others while driving in Connecticut CT.
Actions Amounting to Reckless Driving in Connecticut
What is enough to establish Reckless Driving in Connecticut CT? For example, if the state state proves, beyond a reasonable doubt, that you ignored posted warning signs, drove well in excess of the posted speed limit, it is likely sufficient to establish Reckless Driving in Connecticut CT.
Moreover, evidence of a car accident resulting in injuries, is highly relevant in proving a recklessness offense. 2 Conn. Cir. Ct. 446.
If a driver, while following another car, hits the rear end of another vehicle more than once could reasonably be found guilty of reckless driving.. 3 Conn. Cir. Ct. 509, 510.
Punishment and Sentencing for Reckless Driving
It is easy to get charged with Reckless Driving in Connecticut CT, but it is a criminal charge. Penalties for reckless driving become serious with each offense. It is important to note that reckless driving is different than a speeding ticket. Reckless driving is a crime while speeding is an infraction. Speeding becomes reckless driving when you are driving at a speed over eighty-five (85) miles per hour.
- (1) Fine equal to one hundred dollars ($100) or no more than three hundred dollars ($300); AND
- (2) Up to thirty (30) days in jail or both.
- (1) The maximum fine is up to six hundred dollars ($600); AND
- (2) Up to a year in jail or both.
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your driver's license for a minimum of thirty (30) days, but not more than ninety days. You may have up to four points applied to your driver's license, and to reinstate your license cost one hundred and seventy-five dollars ($175). Also as a result your insurance premium may be reevaluated or your membership will be discontinued.
Defenses to a Reckless Driving charge in Connecticut
Each police report will be analyzed carefully and broken down to determine how to proceed with your reckless driving case.
Some defenses might include:
- You did not act with a conscious disregard of others; OR
- You were not operating your car at a rate of speed of 86 mph or higher.
Asking questions about the arresting officers speed detection device, when was the last time it was calibrated? Did the officer's laser hit another car and were you charged instead? Although these are the methods police use for measuring your speed it is not perfect. From the moment we speak it is important to explain all the details even if you were distracted for a moment and then corrected it.
If you or a loved has been arrested for Reckless Driving in New Haven, Bridgeport, Hartford, New London, contact a lawyer at Sorrentino Legal today at (203) 518-8010 for a free consultation.