Greenwich man arrested for allegedly illegally selling prescription drugs. Under Connecticut CT drug laws, for a first offense, the penalties for selling narcotics is up to 15 years in prison; and fine up to $50,000. There is no mandatory minimum and if you can show that you are drug-dependent; and if so, you can get into a treatment program and hopefully get the help you need while avoiding a lengthy prison sentence. However, there is a presumption of non-dependence of non-dependence if you are caught with 1 oz. (or more) of narcotics.
For more information on Selling Drugs or Possession with Intent to Sell Drugs in Connecticut (C.G.S. § 21a-277), click here: (link to https://www.sorrentinolegal.com/drug-crimes) or contact us today at (203) 518-8010 for a free consultation.
If sale or possession of heroin or methadone with intent to sell is alleged, non-dependence can be inferred where the aggregate weight is one ounce (1 oz.) or more.